Travel vaccines cost: each shot and the whole trip

Tick the vaccines on your list and choose a health department: the calculator adds the doses, the visit and administration fees, and malaria tablets.

Self-pay prices published by US county health departments.

Hepatitis A
Typhoid
Yellow fever
Japanese encephalitis
More options
Rabies (2 doses)
Cholera (oral)
Hepatitis B
Polio booster
Chikungunya

Self-pay cost of these travel vaccines

$427

$375 to $560 across 8 departments, before tablets

Hepatitis A, 2 doses$217
Typhoid, injection, 1 dose$174

Prices published by US county health departments (read October 2026). Insurance may cover some travel vaccines; ask your plan. Tablet cost is what pharmacies pay (NADAC), before their fee.

How this is computed
The same vaccines at each department that lists all of them (vaccines, visit and administration fees).
Health departmentVaccinesFeesTotal
Tarrant County Public Health, TX$375$0$375
Southwest Utah Public Health Department, UT$381not stated$381
Florida Department of Health in Miami-Dade County (approximate prices, 2025 list), FL$388not stated$388
County of Orange Health Care Agency, CA$305$90$394
Norwalk Health Department, CT$380$80$460
Aspetuck Health District, CT$460not stated$460
Fairfax County Health Department, VA$365$104$469
Denver Health Public Health Institute, CO$420$140$560

Compiled by Radif Partners · Method and sources · CDC pages read October 24, 2026

What travel vaccines cost depends on three things: which vaccines the trip calls for, how many doses each takes, and the fees of the clinic that gives them. At the 9 US county and city health departments whose self-pay lists were read for this site, the cheapest shots are the polio booster (median $65) and hepatitis A ($109 a dose); the dearest are rabies, at $419 a dose for a two dose series, and Japanese encephalitis, at $375 a dose. A first trip to Mexico or India with hepatitis A and typhoid comes to $375 to $560 with both hepatitis A doses and the fees; a Kenya safari that adds yellow fever, $607 to $860. Malaria tablets are extra, from about $5 for two weeks of doxycycline at the price pharmacies pay to $33 for atovaquone-proguanil, plus the pharmacy's own margin. Routine vaccines are usually covered by insurance; travel-only vaccines often are not.

Each vaccine, per dose

The table gives the median self-pay price per dose at the departments that list each vaccine, their range, the number of doses in a full series, and the CDC private-sector list price where the vaccine appears on that list. The list price is what manufacturers charge private buyers, vaccine only; travel-only vaccines such as yellow fever, typhoid, rabies, Japanese encephalitis, cholera and chikungunya are not on it.

Self-pay prices at US health departments, read October 24, 2026; CDC adult price list of October 1, 2026.
VaccineDosesMedian per doseRangeDepartmentsCDC list price
Hepatitis A2$109$75 to $1298$86
Typhoid, injection1$174$140 to $2039not listed
Typhoid, oral capsules1$121$110 to $1406not listed
Yellow fever1$269$226 to $3609not listed
Japanese encephalitis2$375$325 to $4209not listed
Rabies, before travel (2 doses)2$419$360 to $4808not listed
Cholera, oral1$313$272 to $3606not listed
Chikungunya1$326$280 to $4004not listed
Polio booster (IPV)1$65$48 to $828$48
Hepatitis B, 2 doses (Heplisav-B)2$149$138 to $1907$166
Hepatitis B, 3 doses3$90$52 to $1007$75
Hepatitis A + B (Twinrix)3$148$115 to $1698$142

The oral typhoid vaccine counts as one purchase, a box of four capsules. Hepatitis A counts both doses, though only the first is needed before the trip. A department that does not list a vaccine is left out of that line rather than given an estimate, which is why the number of departments differs from row to row; cholera, chikungunya and tick-borne encephalitis are listed by fewer departments than hepatitis A or typhoid.

Typical trips, with fees

Lists vary from one traveler to another, so the trips below are examples, not prescriptions: they combine the vaccines CDC lists for most travelers to those places, plus Japanese encephalitis or rabies where the stay makes them likely to come up. Each total is the range across departments that list every vaccine of the row, with their consultation and administration fees for the visits needed.

Full series with fees, self-pay, at the departments listing every vaccine of the row.
TripVaccinesLowestMedianHighest
Mexico or the Caribbean, resort and townsHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection$375$427$560
India, Golden TriangleHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection$375$427$560
Thailand or Vietnam, a month with rural staysHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection, Japanese encephalitis$1,031$1,229$1,350
Kenya or Tanzania safariHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection, Yellow fever$607$683$860
Ghana or NigeriaHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection, Yellow fever$607$683$860
Peru with the AmazonHepatitis A, Yellow fever$450$516$660
Six months in South Asia, with rabiesHepatitis A, Typhoid, injection, Japanese encephalitis, Rabies, before travel (2 doses)$1,843$2,116$2,197

Routine vaccines CDC asks every traveler to be up to date on, such as measles (MMR) and, for unvaccinated travelers, hepatitis B, are not in these totals because most travelers already have them or have them covered by insurance. For an adult who needs them, the calculator above adds hepatitis B, and the hepatitis B page explains the options.

Where the money goes

A travel vaccine bill has three parts. The vaccine itself is the largest; it varies little between departments for routine vaccines and a lot for travel-only ones. The consultation, when there is one, pays for the clinician's review of the itinerary, past vaccines and health, and some departments bill it once, others at each visit. The administration fee pays for each injection, sometimes less for each extra shot given the same day. A series that needs several visits multiplies the visit fees, which is why Japanese encephalitis or a three dose hepatitis B series costs more than the dose price suggests. The clinic fees page breaks those fees down.

A safari list at one department

Self-pay cost of these travel vaccines

$860

Hepatitis A, 2 doses$220
Typhoid, injection, 1 dose$200
Yellow fever, 1 dose$300
Visit and administration fees$140
Open the full calculator →

Insurance and coverage

Vaccines on the routine US schedule, including hepatitis A, hepatitis B, MMR, Tdap and polio, are covered by most private health plans and Medicaid without cost sharing when given in network. Travel-only vaccines are a different matter: plans decide whether to cover typhoid, yellow fever, Japanese encephalitis, rabies, cholera and chikungunya, and many do not. Several health departments state on their price list that travel vaccines may not be covered and ask for payment at the visit. A health savings or flexible spending account can usually be used. Asking the plan with the list of vaccines in hand, before the visit, is the way to know what the trip will really cost.

Malaria tablets

Malaria prevention is a prescription, not a vaccine, and it is priced at the pharmacy. The figures here are the NADAC survey of what pharmacies pay wholesalers, as of October 21, 2026: for a two week stay, 23 atovaquone-proguanil tablets cost about $33 and 44 doxycycline tablets about $5. The shelf price is higher, by the pharmacy's dispensing fee and margin, and insurance often covers the drug. The malaria pills page computes any length of stay.

Outside the United States

In the United Kingdom, the NHS gives some travel vaccines free at a GP surgery, after a risk assessment: hepatitis A, typhoid, cholera and the combined diphtheria, tetanus and polio booster; others are paid at private clinics. The travel jabs page sorts a UK list into free and paid. Private prices in the UK, Canada and Australia are set by clinics and pharmacies, and no dated official list was found for them, so they are not shown.

Questions travelers ask

How much do travel vaccines cost in total?

It depends on the list. At US health departments that publish self-pay prices, hepatitis A and typhoid, the usual pair for Mexico or India, come to $375 to $560 with fees and both hepatitis A doses; a safari list that adds yellow fever, $607 to $860. Japanese encephalitis and rabies add several hundred dollars each.

Which travel vaccine is the most expensive?

Per series, rabies and Japanese encephalitis, since each takes two doses at a median of $419 and $375 a dose at US health departments. Per single dose, yellow fever, cholera and chikungunya cost several hundred dollars too. The polio booster and hepatitis A are the cheapest lines.

Are travel vaccines cheaper at a health department than at a pharmacy?

Often, but not always, and the comparison needs the whole bill: dose, consultation and administration fees. Health departments publish their prices, while pharmacies and private clinics rarely do. Pharmacies can be the cheaper route for vaccines insurance covers, such as hepatitis A or B, since they bill the plan directly. Some departments serve residents only.

Does health insurance cover travel vaccines?

Routine vaccines such as hepatitis A, hepatitis B, MMR, Tdap and polio are covered by most plans and Medicaid. Travel-only vaccines such as typhoid, yellow fever, Japanese encephalitis, rabies and cholera depend on the plan, and many exclude them. Calling the insurer with the list of vaccines before the visit gives the real figure.

Next steps

CDC pages, price lists and data behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of travel vaccine checklists and cost estimates built from CDC destination advice and the fee schedules of US public health departments

Data checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

CDC advice is quoted from the destination page of each country; prices are the self-pay lists of US public health departments, dated, not quotes. Your clinician decides what you need from your health, age, plans and past vaccines.

Data of 2026, CDC pages and price lists last read on